A Sick Wednesday

On Wednesday we took the kids to Salzburg for the day.  It was a short trip but herding 69 kids around a city made it feel long.  With all the mayhem of traveling, eating junk food, and buying weird souvenirs a lot of the kids became overtired and as we returned home – sick.  In the evening, after playing a live-action form of Clue, I stopped by the sick ward to say goodnight to some of the kids staying in quarantine.

Just as I was saying goodbye to Koru, our nurse, Tiago, our Portugese director/ film camp assistant, walked up with one hand on Hamzah, a pudgy ten year old, and the other holding a blue plastic bucket.

“Hey Koru, we have a problem,” said Tiago.

“What is it?”

“Tiago told me a scary story and when I hear scary things I throw up,” said Hamzah with the rising intonation of a question.

“Did you throw up your medicine, again?” said Koru, looking with horror at Hamzah.  Then, turning to me, “He threw up his medicine last night.  Tiago, did he puke it all up?”

“I don’t know,” said Tiago, taking a look into the blue bucket and swirling it around a little, “I guess so.”

“I’m sorry, Koru,” said Hamzah.

“It’s okay,” said Koru in a tone that implied that it wasn’t really okay, “but I don’t have time for you.  I have seven campers with a temperature that I have to check on. Ian, can you help Hamzah take his medicine again?”

“Oh boy, that’s starting to stink,” said Tiago as he turned around a retreated downstairs with the blue bucket while I spent the next twenty minutes overseeing the administration of three medicines while Hamzah asked, “Can you tell Koru I’m sorry, I don’t want her to be mad at me.”

And sometimes that’s just how your day goes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

